Our History

Founded 1926

“On Friday evening, September 13, 1926, twenty-five music teachers of Reading met at the home of George D. Haage for the purpose of forming an organization to be known as the Music Teachers Association of Reading. The purpose of such an organization would be to raise the position of the music teaching profession to a higher degree of public recognition and to afford protection of the proper rights and interest of those engaged in the music teaching profession.

RMTA logo copy

RMTA Past Presidents

2020-2022   Barbara Lanza

2018-2020    Millie Eben

2016-2018    Jennifer Frecon-Smith & Dorinne Bilger

2014-2016    Jennifer Frecon-Smith & JoAnne Earnest

2012-2014    Debbie Simpson

2007-2012    Millie Eben

2006-2007    Kathleen Herber

2004-2006    Holly Altenderfer

2002-2004    Theresa Cocci

2000-2002    Kathleen Herber

1996-2000    Millie Eben

1994-1996    Rosemary Fraley

1992-1994    Doris Ketner

1988-1992    Pearl Kahler

1986-1988    Rosemary Fraley

1984-1986    Grace Mease

1982-1984    Sister Mercylle

1974-1982    Angela Ganster

1972-1974    Rachel Kocher

1970-1972    Pearl Kahler

1964-1970    Miriam Heisler

1926-1964    George D. Haage

Become a member of RMTA today!

Promote and support music and music education in our community...